Siena Heights News

Siena Heights University Honors Its Best

Delaney Stersic of Adrian, Mich., and Kendrick Green of Grand Blanc, Mich., each earned the 2021 Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award from Siena Heights University. The award is SHU’s highest honor given to undergraduate students in the College of Arts and Sciences who represent the University’s best in curricular and co-curricular accomplishment throughout their college career.  Delaney Stersic

Stersic graduated in May 2021 with a bachelor’s degree in Communications. She was a Peer Mentor, Public Safety Dispatcher and a two-time NAIA All-American Track and Field scholar-athlete. She completed an internship in the SHU Marketing Office this spring and also earned an Outstanding Student Award in the Humanities Division. Next fall, the Madison High School graduate will pursue her master’s degree in Higher Education at the University of Michigan, and will attempt to walk-on UM’s track and field team.

Green graduated in May 2021 with a bachelor’s degree, double majoring in Law and Politics and Spanish. In winter 2020, he studied abroad at Universidad Veritas in San Jose, Costa Rica. On campus, he has been a Resident Assistant, a member of the SHU football team and the treasurer, vice-president and eventual president of the Men of Distinction student organization. He was a Student Life Division award recipient for Servant Leadership, and was SHU’s recipient of the 2021 Martin Luther King Jr. Student Service Scholarship.Kendrick Green He also served as a 2021 commencement student speaker for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Here are others who were recognized during the April 30 Honors Convocation:

  • Sister Eileen Rice Award for Outstanding Teaching: Eric Kos
  • Thomas Emmet Award (top junior student-athletes: Lauren Southworth (women’s soccer); Kole Murlin (football)
  • Team Academic Award: Women’s soccer
  • Business and Management Division Outstanding Student: Addyson Tomczak
  • Computer, Mathematics and the Sciences Division Outstanding Students: Marcia Hawkins-Day and Dustin Lennox
  • Teacher Education Division Outstanding Students: Kayla Kormos and Matelyn Yarbrough
  • Humanities Division Outstanding Students: Delaney Stersic and Carri Jane Tenniswood
  • Nursing Division Outstanding Students: Cheyenne Tule and Jessica Niebauer
  • Social Sciences Division Outstanding Students: Danielle Nowak and Haylie Curtiss
  • Visual and Performing Arts Division Outstanding Student: Isabelle Pioch
  • St. Catherine of Alexandria Award (for junior leadership and service): Aileen Pena
  • Sister Jean Cecile Hunt Outstanding Advising Award: Paget Clark
  • Extra Mile Award: Cindy Birdwell
  • Staff Excellence Awards: Cindy Anderson, Lori Timmis
  • Jack Bologna Innovative Teaching Award: Anthony Farina
  • Staff Emeritae: Cindy Anderson, Michael Fink

Please login or register to post comments.